Program Links
Corporate Museums
Members Get in Free Program
Historic Houses
Presidential Sites and Libraries
Performance Management Program
Other Resources
Return to Home Page
Hot Topics
Frequently Asked Questions
Members Only Room
Resource Links
Support AASLH
Click Here for Member
Benefit Highlights


AASLH Award Winners

AASLH recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state and local history. The American Association for State and Local History conducts its Annual Awards Program, now known as the Leadership in History Awards, to establish and encourage standards of excellence in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state, and local history throughout North America. By publicly recognizing excellent achievements, the Association strives to inspire others to give that extra effort.

AASLH confers three different types of awards:

The Award of Merit is presented to recognize excellence for projects (including special projects, educational programs, exhibits, publications, restoration projects, etc.), individual achievement, and organizational general excellence.

The Albert B. Corey Award recognizes primarily volunteer-operated historical organizations that best display the qualities of vigor, scholarship, and imagination in their work. Regional chairs may recommend a candidate from any all-volunteer organization that is nominated for the Award of Merit. This is an additional award made at the discretion of the Awards Committee.

The Award of Distinction is given infrequently and only in recognition of long and very distinguished individual service. Recipients are noted for their contributions to the field of state and local history and are recognized nationally as leaders in the profession.To nominate an individual for this award, please contact the national awards chair by March 1.

Search the list of AASLH Award Winners.


Show All


1717 Church Street, Nashville, TN 37203-2991 l 615-320-3203 l Fax: 615-327-9013 l E-Mail: l ©2005 AASLH